I am extremely creative I am an artist and love photography. For the misophonia sufferer this is the brain-pummeling sound of someone licking their lips… or a work colleague clicking their pen. Hi, Also I have a heightened sense of smells which I can identify the n derail what is is. I think misophonia is as equally grueling and excruciating. There definitely seems to be less of a filter. A “high IQ society,” Mensa requires that its members have an IQ in the top 2 percent. In fact, you’ve probably got a condition known as misophonia, which refers to the extreme irritation some people feel when they hear certain noises. When you’re ‘in the zone’ are you surprised at what you’re able to achieve? Unfortunately it stopped right there. ….misophonia involves a conditioned response of anger and physical arousal elicited by human audiovisual triggers; the symptoms are mediated by enhanced reactivity of the salience network … Being overly sensitive to sound could have been the key to the creativity of geniuses like Charles Darwin (pictured) and Franz Kafka, scientists at Northwestern University, Illinois, believe. This article ties the two areas in together really well and I would love to draw on this discussion for my dissertation. For more information, contact the Misophonia Association. Misophonia is a condition where patients experience a negative emotional reaction and dislike (e.g., anxiety, agitation, and annoyance) to specific sounds (e.g., ballpoint pen clicking (repeatedly), tapping, typing, chewing, breathing, swallowing, tapping foot, etc.) Parents, siblings, partners and best friends. “Misophonia seems to be its own condition, but there is definitely overlap with these other conditions,” Lerner said. I am overly sensitive to certain sounds that will extremely annoy me until it makes me upset. He is a board member of the Misophonia Institute, a not-for-profit organization incorporated in USA. Sound triggers that ‘typically’ affect misophones, See your fellow read